Patient assistance program applications by fax: forms, proof, hardship

Each patient assistance program sets its own form, proof of income and fax number. AZ&Me, Sanofi and Genentech take faxes, NovoCare is moving to online only and Merck's pages differ on fax or mail.

A pink piggy bank on a plain coral background

A patient assistance program application goes on the program's own form: a patient section, a prescriber section with signature, the income or hardship proof it asks for and the route it names. AZ&Me, Sanofi Patient Connection and the Genentech Patient Foundation take it by fax; each program sets eligibility, often 300% or 400% of the federal poverty level.

How do you apply to a patient assistance program by fax?

A prescriber's office applies to a patient assistance program by completing the program's own application, adding the proof the program asks for and sending it by the route the program names, which is fax at some programs, mail at others and online at NovoCare. The table sets the programs side by side, and Not stated means the program's page is silent.

ProgramApplication partsProof it asks forHow it is sentRenewal
Merck Patient Assistance Program (JANUVIA page, FAQ page)Enrollment form signed by the patient and the physician or prescriberAdditional supporting documentation not required at this timeJANUVIA page: the enrollment form may be faxed to 1-800-419-8371, completed online, printed and mailed, or requested at 800-727-5400. FAQ page: a mail-in program, PO Box 1206, Wilkes Barre, PA 18703-1206Twelve months from the enrollment date; ends at the end of the calendar year for Part D patients
Merck Vaccine Patient Assistance ProgramEnrollment form, completed and signedNot statedFax-in program: fax to 800-528-2551Not stated
AZ&Me (FAQ, home page)Hard-copy application the doctor's office faxesNot statedFax to 1-877-239-0867Medicare patients are not re-enrolled automatically for 2027 and must complete the 2027 re-enrollment process
Pfizer Patient Assistance Program (RxPathways)Completed enrollment form submitted by the patient and the healthcare providerProof of income such as a W2 form, a paycheck stub or the prior year's tax returnNot statedNot stated
NovoCare Patient Assistance Program (program page)Not statedProof-of-income documents such as the last 3 paystubs, W2 or 1099 for the patient and household members, for patients who did not file taxes or had a life event affecting incomeOnline; enrollment is moving to online onlyNot stated
Sanofi Patient Connection (FAQs, financial eligibility page)Completed and signed applicationNot statedFax to 1-888-847-1797 or mail to PO Box 222138, Charlotte, NC 28222-2138Not stated
Genentech Patient Foundation (apply page, FAQs)Patient Consent Form and Prescriber Foundation Form, both requiredNot statedFax to 833-999-4363 or text a photo to 650-877-1111No re-enrollment while the patient keeps qualifying
Amgen Safety Net Foundation (eligibility page)Not statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Who is eligible, and how do programs measure income?

Each patient assistance program sets its own eligibility, often household income as a share of the federal poverty level together with the patient's insurance status. HHS ASPE sets the 2026 poverty guidelines for the 48 contiguous states and the District of Columbia at $15,960 for one person, $21,640 for two, $27,320 for three and $33,000 for four, rising to $55,720 for eight, with $5,680 added for each person beyond eight. A program that sets its limit at 300% or 400% applies that share to the guideline for the household's size.

A second table lists each program's income test and insurance condition as its own page states them.

ProgramIncome testInsurance condition
Merck Patient Assistance ProgramHousehold income of $63,840 or less for individuals, $86,560 or less for couples, or $132,000 or less for a family of 4An exception can be requested when the insurance coverage criteria are not met, income meets the program criteria and special circumstances of financial and medical hardship apply
AZ&Me (specialty and primary products)Annual adjusted gross income at or below 300% of the Federal Poverty LevelA Medicare beneficiary must not be eligible for or enrolled in Extra Help
Pfizer Patient Assistance ProgramAnnual household pre-tax income cannot exceed 300% of the Federal Poverty Level, adjusted for household sizeNot stated
NovoCare Patient Assistance ProgramTotal household income at or below 400% of the federal poverty level on all medications other than OzempicUninsured patients
Sanofi Patient ConnectionThe maximum for the household size, read from the 400% column of the poverty guideline tableNot stated
Genentech Patient FoundationHousehold makes less than $150,000No insurance coverage for the Genentech medicine
Amgen Safety Net FoundationNot statedNo insurance coverage; for certain products, a qualifying Medicare patient with an affordability gap and no access to alternative financial support such as Extra Help or independent copay foundation funding

What goes in the application, and who signs it?

A patient assistance program application has a patient part and a prescriber part, and each program names its signers. Merck's enrollment form must be signed by the patient and the physician or prescriber, the Genentech Patient Foundation requires both a Patient Consent Form and a Prescriber Foundation Form, and Pfizer RxPathways has the patient and the healthcare provider submit a completed enrollment form.

What proof of income or hardship letter do programs accept?

Patient assistance programs accept the proof their own pages list: Pfizer RxPathways lists income proof such as a W2 form, a paycheck stub or the prior year's tax return, and NovoCare lists documents such as the last 3 paystubs, a W2 or a 1099 for patients who did not file taxes or had a life event affecting their income. Merck's Patient Assistance Program says additional supporting documentation is not required at this time.

A hardship request appears on Merck's JANUVIA page: a patient who does not meet the insurance coverage criteria, whose income meets the program criteria and who has special circumstances of financial and medical hardship can request an exception. The program's own form or page sets what a hardship request must contain.

Where do you send it, and how long does a decision take?

A patient assistance program application goes to the fax number or address printed on the program's current form, and the programs that state a decision time give 2-4 business days at AZ&Me, usually 5-7 business days at Sanofi Patient Connection and 5 business days at the Genentech Patient Foundation. AZ&Me's 2-4 business days cover a decision or a request for more information on a faxed or incomplete application, the Genentech Patient Foundation's 5 business days start once it has both required forms, and Sanofi Patient Connection's 5-7 business days apply to fully completed and signed applications.

Merck's pages name different routes for the Merck Patient Assistance Program: the JANUVIA page lists fax, online enrollment and mail, and the FAQ page calls it a mail-in program, so the practice confirms the route on the form it holds. Merck's FAQ page calls only the Merck Vaccine Patient Assistance Program a fax-in program.

What options do Medicare Part D enrollees have?

Medicare Part D enrollees can apply for Extra Help through Social Security, check a State Pharmaceutical Assistance Program or ask a drug maker's program whether it takes Part D enrollees, and each manufacturer program sets its own Part D rules.

  • Extra Help. Social Security says the Extra Help program helps people with limited income and resources lower or cut Part D costs, and people can apply any time before or after they enroll in Part D. Medicare.gov lists the 2026 limits as $23,940 of income and $18,090 of resources for an individual, and $32,460 of income and $36,100 of resources for a married couple.
  • State Pharmaceutical Assistance Programs. Medicare.gov says these programs provide coverage from a state, or the U.S. Virgin Islands, to help pay drug plan premiums, cost sharing or both, that contributions may count toward the Medicare drug coverage out-of-pocket limit, and that eligibility depends on each program's rules.
  • Manufacturer programs. Medicare.gov says some pharmaceutical companies offer programs for people enrolled in Part D, with different eligibility requirements at each company. AZ&Me requires that a Medicare beneficiary not be eligible for or enrolled in Extra Help, Merck ends enrollment at the end of the calendar year for patients with Part D, and the Amgen Safety Net Foundation lists, for certain products, a qualifying Medicare patient with an affordability gap and no access to Extra Help or independent copay foundation funding.
  • HHS-OIG on programs and Part D. HHS-OIG says in its November 2005 news release on its Special Advisory Bulletin that a drugmaker using a patient assistance program it operates or controls to subsidize its own products payable by Part D presents a heightened risk of fraud and abuse, and that nothing in OIG laws or regulations prevents manufacturers from helping uninsured patients and Medicare beneficiaries who have not enrolled in Part D.

A Part D plan's formulary exception is a separate request that rests on the prescriber's supporting statement, covered in how to fax a formulary exception request.

What delays or sinks an application?

An incomplete or unreadable application delays a patient assistance program decision, and the programs' own pages name these causes:

  • A missing second form. The Genentech Patient Foundation takes no action until it has both the Patient Consent Form and the Prescriber Foundation Form.
  • Missing information. Sanofi Patient Connection follows up with the healthcare provider when an application is missing information, and the decision takes longer.
  • An unreadable fax. NovoCare is moving enrollment to online only because online enrollment eliminates delays caused by incomplete or unreadable fax submissions.
  • A lapsed enrollment. AZ&Me does not automatically re-enroll currently enrolled Medicare patients for 2027, so they complete the 2027 re-enrollment process to keep receiving assistance.

How do you send applications from a HIPAA fax account?

A prescriber's office sends a patient assistance program application from a HIPAA fax account by faxing the signed forms and the income proof to the number on the program's form, then keeping the delivery proof until the program decides. Every Fax Pigeon plan includes e-signatures, so a prescriber can sign a faxed form on screen and send it back without printing. A program's decision or request for more information, faxed to the practice's own number, reaches the team's shared inbox and can be assigned to the person handling the application. The first plan, Basic, is $4.99 a month billed annually for 200 pages, and each plan carries a BAA signed at signup and room for unlimited people.

* Official sources (HHS ASPE, Social Security Administration, Medicare.gov, HHS Office of Inspector General, Merck Patient Assistance Program (MerckHelps), AZ&Me, Pfizer RxPathways, NovoCare, Sanofi Patient Connection, Genentech Patient Foundation, Amgen Safety Net Foundation) were read on October 23, 2026. Fax Pigeon prices and plan terms as of October 24, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

How do I apply for a drug company's patient assistance program?
To apply for a drug company's patient assistance program, get that program's current application, fill in the patient and prescriber sections, sign where the form asks, attach the proof of income it lists and send it by the route it names. Each program sets its own income limit, often 300% or 400% of the federal poverty level, and its own insurance conditions.
What income proof does a patient assistance program accept?
A patient assistance program accepts the income proof its own page names, such as the W2 form, paycheck stub or prior year's tax return that Pfizer RxPathways lists. NovoCare asks patients who did not file taxes or had a life event affecting their income for documents such as the last 3 paystubs, a W2 or a 1099, for themselves and their household. Merck's FAQ page says its program does not require additional supporting documentation.
Can I fax a patient assistance program application?
A prescriber's office can fax a patient assistance program application to AZ&Me, Sanofi Patient Connection and the Genentech Patient Foundation, which each print a fax number. NovoCare is moving enrollment to online only because incomplete or unreadable fax submissions cause delays, and Merck's JANUVIA page and FAQ page differ on fax or mail, so the program's current form decides.
What is a hardship letter for a patient assistance program?
A hardship letter asks a patient assistance program for an exception, as Merck's JANUVIA page describes it. Merck lets a patient request one when the patient does not meet the insurance coverage criteria, the patient's income meets the program criteria and special circumstances of financial and medical hardship apply. Other programs' own forms and pages set whether they take such a request and what it must contain.
Can Medicare Part D patients use a patient assistance program?
Medicare Part D patients can use some manufacturers' patient assistance programs, and Medicare.gov says eligibility differs by company. AZ&Me takes a Medicare beneficiary only if that person is neither eligible for nor enrolled in Extra Help, and Merck's enrollment for Part D patients ends with the calendar year. Extra Help itself, applied for through Social Security, lowers or cuts Part D costs for people with limited income and resources.
How long does a patient assistance program take to decide?
AZ&Me responds with a decision or a request for more information within 2-4 business days when an application is faxed or missing information. Sanofi Patient Connection usually processes fully completed and signed applications within 5-7 business days and takes longer when information is missing, and the Genentech Patient Foundation processes a request within 5 business days of receiving both required forms.

Fax Pigeon

HIPAA-compliant fax with a signed BAA on every plan

Plans start at $4.99 a month, billed annually, for 200 pages, with your own number and unlimited people. Your first fax is free.

  • Free porting of your local number
  • Fax from your email
  • AI summary of every inbound fax
  • E-signatures
  • Contact management
  • Delivery proof
Plans and pricing

Know a practice that still faxes? Refer it through the referral program and earn 20% of its plan, every month it stays.