Fax Pigeon vs iFax
iFax Basic at $12.49 a month has no fax number and no HIPAA coverage; iFax signs a BAA on Plus and Pro from $24.99. Fax Pigeon includes the BAA and a number from $4.99. All prices are billed annually.

iFax's $12.49 plan cannot carry patient information: it has no fax number and it is not marketed as HIPAA compliant. The first iFax plan labeled HIPAA compliant is Plus at $24.99 a month billed annually, and iFax's trial page says the Business Associate Agreement is free on Plus and Pro. Fax Pigeon includes the signed BAA and your own number on every plan from $4.99.
Like for like
| Fax Pigeon Basic | iFax Basic | Fax Pigeon Standard | iFax Plus | iFax Pro | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Per month, billed annually | $4.99 | $12.49 | $9.99 | $24.99 | $33.33 |
| Pages a month | 200 | 200 | 500 | 500 | 1,000 |
| Your own fax number | Included | Not included | Included | Included | Included |
| Marketed as HIPAA compliant | Yes | No | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Signed BAA | Included at signup, text public | No | Included at signup | Free on Plus | Free on Pro |
| Records kept | Life of account | Not stated | Life of account | Not stated | Not stated |
| Cancel | In Settings | Depends on where you bought it | In Settings | Depends on where you bought it | Depends on where you bought it |
What iFax's own pages say
- Basic is send-only. iFax's FAQ: "Do I need an incoming fax number subscription to send faxes?" Answer: no, sending needs only credits. A number to receive is a separate subscription, which is why Basic lists no number. A practice that needs records, referrals and prior-auth responses to reach it needs a number, and that starts at Plus.
- The BAA starts at Plus. iFax's HIPAA page carries a third-party compliance seal, describes safeguards and says iFax provides a signed Business Associate Agreement for healthcare clients. Its trial page names the plans: the agreement is free and "exclusive for iFax Plus and iFax Pro subscribers." The agreement is the document that makes the arrangement lawful; a seal is not a substitute.
- Cancellation depends on the store. The FAQ answer to "How do I cancel my subscription?" is that it depends on whether you subscribed through Apple, Google, Microsoft or the website. Deleting your account data requires a request to support. Fax Pigeon cancels from Settings and deletes on request with a 7-day undo window.
- "No overage fees" comes with automatic credits. iFax's pricing page says "Never pay any overage costs," and its Terms of Use add credits once usage reaches 95% of the plan limit, billed to the payment method and on by default, at a rate iFax does not print. Fax Pigeon bills pages past your allowance on the next invoice, 5¢ a page on Standard (500 pages) and 4¢ on Plus (1,000), so a busy month goes through; the page meter in your account shows where you stand.
- Photos are discouraged. The FAQ advises to "only fax text documents, not photos or pictures." Fax Pigeon accepts PDF, PNG, JPEG, TIFF and HEIC up to 25 MB and binarizes them for the line.
What every Fax Pigeon plan includes
A signed BAA at signup, public at faxpigeon.com/baa. Your own local number on every paid plan, porting free both ways. An AI summary of every inbound fax. E-signatures, cover sheets, contact management. A delivery certificate for every delivered fax. Records for the life of your account. Unlimited people on every plan, no per-seat fees. Send a fax by email on every paid plan: from your account's email address, email one PDF to the recipient's fax number at fax.faxpigeon.com and it goes out as a fax from your own number. Fax to email as a secure link: every received fax mails you the sender's number, the page count and a link, and the document stays behind your login.
Who should switch
A practice that needs a number it owns, the agreement on day one, and a price that matches a few hundred pages a month: Fax Pigeon's Basic plan at $4.99 has all three, and the first fax is free.
* Prices last verified October 7, 2026, and plan terms and quoted policies September 2, 2026, at each provider's own site. iFax's Terms of Use were last verified October 19, 2026. Fax Pigeon is not affiliated with iFax or Amplify Ventures.
Frequently asked questions
- Is iFax HIPAA compliant?
- iFax lists 'HIPAA compliant' as a feature from its Plus plan at $24.99 a month billed annually, and lists HIPAA, SOC 2 and ISO 27001 on Pro. Its trial page says the Business Associate Agreement is free and exclusive to Plus and Pro subscribers. The Basic plan is not marketed as HIPAA compliant.
- How much does iFax cost?
- Basic $12.49 a month with 200 pages and no fax number; Plus $24.99 with 500 pages and a number; Pro $33.33 with 1,000 pages; Enterprise by volume pricing. Month to month, Basic is $14.99, Plus $29.99 and Pro $39.99.
- Does iFax Basic include a fax number?
- No. iFax's own FAQ says an incoming fax number is a separate paid subscription and that sending needs only credits. Basic is send-only. Fax Pigeon includes your own number on every paid plan from $4.99.
- Is Fax Pigeon cheaper than iFax?
- At 200 pages with a number and the BAA, Fax Pigeon's Basic plan is $4.99 a month billed annually; iFax's 200-page Basic plan is $12.49 with no number and no HIPAA coverage. At 500 pages, Fax Pigeon's Standard plan is $9.99 against iFax Plus at $24.99.
Fax Pigeon
HIPAA-compliant fax with a signed BAA on every plan
Plans start at $4.99 a month billed annually for 200 pages with your own number and unlimited people. Your first fax is free.
- Free porting of your local number
- Fax from your email
- AI summary of every inbound fax
- E-signatures
- Contact management
- Delivery proof
Know a practice that still faxes? Refer it through the referral program and earn 20% of its plan, every month it stays.