Free online fax trials (2026): length, card and BAA for each service

Trials run 14 days at MyFax, Spruce Health, LuzardoFax and Documo, 7 at iFax and RingCentral, 3 at HIPAA Vault. Spruce Health's trial includes a BAA. Fax Pigeon has no trial; its first fax is free.

A man in a dark shirt reading a message on his phone in an office

Online fax free trials run 14 days at MyFax and Spruce Health, 7 at iFax and RingCentral and 3 at HIPAA Vault; Spruce Health's trial needs no credit card and includes a BAA for organizations that require one. Fax Pigeon has no trial: its first fax, up to 10 pages, is free with no credit card under a signed BAA.

Which online fax services offer a free trial in 2026?

Seven of the services in the table print a free trial: 14 days at MyFax, Spruce Health, LuzardoFax and Documo, 7 days at iFax and RingCentral and 3 days at HIPAA Vault, while RingRx prints 14 days free. SRFax's Basic plan page says there is no free trial, and FaxRx's About page says there is no free trial and no free plan for sending faxes.

The table gives each trial as the service's own page prints it, with the card and BAA terms. "Not stated" marks a term the page is silent on.

ServiceTrial lengthCard requiredBAA during the trialAfter the trial
MyFax14 days; the Home Office User card lists 100 pages sent and 100 receivedNot statedNot stated; the terms bar storing PHI until you execute a BAA with MyFaxNot stated; Home Office User is listed at $12 a month, with $5 for the first month
RingCentral Fax7 days; new subscribers only; up to five usersNot statedA BAA is available to paying Covered Entity customersNot stated
RingRx14 days freeNot statedA signed BAA is provided during onboardingNot stated
Spruce Health14 daysNo credit card requiredIncluded: every trial and paid plan automatically includes a BAA for an organization that requires oneSign up for a plan to keep using Spruce; billing begins when you sign up
HIPAA Vault3 days on the Solo Practitioner, Small Practice and Clinic plans; not for ported numbersNot statedA signed BAA is included with every plan, per the trial checkoutA 30 Day Money Back Guarantee is listed beside the trial button
LuzardoFax14 days of the full Plus feature set, one user and one fax number, capped at 30 sent and 180 received pages counted separatelyNo credit cardNot stated for the trial; the BAA is signed automatically during onboarding on every paid planThe account becomes read-only for 30 days unless you choose a paid plan
iFax7 days; up to 100 pagesCard details are requested to use the premium features; no charge for the first seven daysA free BAA with the trial for iFax Plus and iFax Pro subscribers onlyMove to a paid plan or cancel
eFaxNot stated; Personal is $4.99 for the first month and Business $14.99 for the first month on the monthly viewNot statedBusiness carries the BAANot stated
Documo14 daysNo credit card requiredNot stated for the trial; Documo signs a BAA for healthcare customersNot stated
Sfax14 days to cancel a paying plan without a chargeNot statedOn request, by email or phoneRefunds cannot be issued after the initial 14-day trial, and partial months are not prorated
SRFaxNone; the Basic plan page states no free trialNot applicableNot statedThe plans page lists no-hassle cancellation at any time
FaxRxNone; no free trial and no free plan for sending faxesNot applicableNot statedNot applicable
WestFaxNot stated; plans are billed monthly, cancel anytimeNot statedEvery plan is HIPAA compliant with a signed BAABilled monthly, cancel anytime
Fax PigeonNo trial; one free fax of up to 10 pages after you confirm your emailNo credit cardThe same signed BAA as every paid planPaid plans send and receive from your own number, from $4.99 a month billed annually

Which free trials include a signed BAA?

Spruce Health says all of its trials and paid plans automatically include a BAA for an organization that requires one, and HIPAA Vault's trial checkout lists a signed BAA with every plan. iFax limits its free BAA with the trial to iFax Plus and iFax Pro subscribers. RingRx says in its FAQ that it provides a signed BAA during onboarding.

MyFax's terms bar storing protected health information until you have executed a BAA with MyFax for the service. RingCentral's HIPAA document says it makes a BAA available to its paying Covered Entity customers. LuzardoFax's terms say its BAA is signed automatically during onboarding on every paid plan.

Documo says it signs a BAA for healthcare customers, and WestFax says every plan comes with a signed BAA. Sfax's BAA article says a customer who wants a BAA on file emails support or calls 877-493-1015.

Do you need a credit card for a free fax trial?

Spruce Health, LuzardoFax and Documo each print a trial with no credit card required, and iFax asks for credit card details to use its premium features. iFax adds that it will not charge for the first seven days. The MyFax, RingCentral, RingRx and HIPAA Vault pages state no card term.

Sfax's help article on how its 14-day free trial works says a customer who cancels a paying plan within 14 days of signing up is not charged. Fax Pigeon's free first fax needs no credit card, and FaxZero's free fax needs none either.

What is the difference between a free trial, a free plan and a free fax?

A free trial lets you use a paid service for a set number of days, a free plan is a plan that costs nothing and caps the pages, and a free fax is a single send from a website. Fax.Plus says its free plan comes with 10 free pages to fax in total. FaxTerra sends 10 pages every month to any supported country on its free tier, free forever. Its HIPAA page says that without the HIPAA add-on no plan includes a BAA.

Dropbox Fax gives 5 free fax pages on its free plan, then $0.99 a fax up to 10 pages and $0.20 for every page after, for sending only. Receiving faxes is available for paid accounts. FaxZero needs no credit card for a free fax, puts FaxZero branding on the cover page and allows a maximum of 3 pages plus a cover and 5 free faxes a day.

Which of these come under a BAA is answered in is there a free HIPAA compliant fax service.

Is a first-month price or a money-back guarantee a free trial?

A first-month price is a paid month at an introductory price, and a money-back guarantee refunds a payment after it is made; neither is a free trial. MyFax lists Home Office User at $5 for the first month, with $12 a month listed for the plan. eFax's pricing page shows Personal at $4.99 for the first month and Business, which carries the BAA, at $14.99 for the first month on its monthly view.

eFax's HIPAA Choice page advertises eFax Protect at $15 for the first month. HIPAA Vault lists a 30 Day Money Back Guarantee next to its 3-day free trial button. Sfax says refunds cannot be issued after its initial 14-day trial and does not prorate partial months.

Paying for a single fax skips both the trial and the subscription, and what HIPAA fax services charge per fax has its own page.

Can you send patient documents during a free trial?

A free trial that receives or stores patient faxes needs a BAA in place first, because HHS says a covered entity or business associate that uses a cloud service provider to process or store ePHI without a BAA is in violation of the HIPAA Rules. HHS's cloud computing guidance also says a covered entity may use a cloud service for ePHI provided it enters into a HIPAA-compliant BAA with the provider.

A trial without a BAA suits test pages that hold no patient information. Do you need a BAA with your online fax service covers when one is required.

How do you run a fax trial without risking patient information?

A fax trial stays free of patient information when it runs on test pages until the BAA is in place, and these steps set that up.

  1. Read the trial's BAA terms before creating the account. Spruce Health includes a BAA in every trial for an organization that requires one, HIPAA Vault's trial checkout lists a signed BAA with every plan, and iFax limits its free BAA with the trial to Plus and Pro subscribers.
  2. Send only test pages that hold no patient information until the BAA is signed. MyFax's terms bar storing protected health information until you have executed a BAA.
  3. Check the trial's caps against what the test needs. LuzardoFax caps its trial at 30 sent and 180 received pages, counted separately, iFax allows up to 100 faxed pages, and RingCentral limits its trial to a maximum of five users.
  4. Check how the trial treats an existing number. HIPAA Vault says its trial does not apply to ported numbers.
  5. Find the card rule before the first fax. Spruce Health, LuzardoFax and Documo ask for no credit card, while iFax requests credit card details to use the premium features.
  6. Mark the end of the trial on a calendar. Spruce Health requires a plan to keep using Spruce, with billing beginning when you sign up, and LuzardoFax makes the account read-only for 30 days unless you choose a paid plan.

What does Fax Pigeon's free first fax include?

Fax Pigeon's free first fax is one fax of up to 10 pages, sent after you confirm your email, with no credit card, under the same signed BAA as every paid plan. Fax Pigeon has no free trial. The fax goes out from Fax Pigeon's shared number, and receiving needs a paid plan.

The paid plans start at $4.99 a month billed annually on Basic, or $5.99 month to month, for 200 pages a month, sent plus received on your own number. Every plan includes unlimited people and a signed BAA, executed at sign-up and readable at faxpigeon.com/baa before paying. Every paid plan ports an existing number in at no charge.

* Fax Pigeon prices and plan terms as of October 24, 2026. Outside sources were read on October 23, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

Which online fax services offer a free trial?
MyFax, Spruce Health, LuzardoFax and Documo print a 14-day free trial, RingRx prints 14 days free, iFax and RingCentral print 7 days, and HIPAA Vault prints 3 days. Sfax lets a customer cancel a paying plan within 14 days without a charge. SRFax's Basic plan page and FaxRx's About page state no free trial. Fax Pigeon has none; its first fax, up to 10 pages, is free.
Is there a free fax trial with no credit card?
Yes, Spruce Health, LuzardoFax and Documo start their 14-day trials without a credit card, and FaxZero's free fax needs none either. iFax asks for card details to use its premium features and says it will not charge for the first seven days. Fax Pigeon's free first fax, up to 10 pages, needs no credit card.
Can I send patient documents during a free fax trial?
Patient documents can go into a free fax trial only once a BAA is in place. HHS says a covered entity or business associate that uses a cloud service provider to process or store ePHI without a BAA is in violation of the HIPAA Rules. Spruce Health includes a BAA in its trials for an organization that requires one, and MyFax's terms bar storing protected health information until a BAA is executed. Until then, send test pages without patient information.
Does MyFax have a free trial?
Yes, MyFax's pricing page offers a 14-day free trial, and its Home Office User card lists 100 pages sent and 100 pages received. MyFax's terms bar storing protected health information until a Business Associate Agreement is executed with MyFax for the service. The monthly view lists Home Office User at $12 a month, with $5 for the first month.
Is a free fax plan the same as a free trial?
No, a free fax plan charges nothing and caps the pages, while a free trial opens a paid service for a set number of days. Fax.Plus's free plan comes with 10 free pages to fax in total, FaxTerra's sends 10 pages every month, and Dropbox Fax's gives 5 pages for sending only. FaxTerra says no plan includes a BAA without its HIPAA add-on.
Does Fax Pigeon have a free trial?
Fax Pigeon has no free trial. Confirming your email lets you send one fax of up to 10 pages free with no credit card, from Fax Pigeon's shared number, under the same signed BAA as every paid plan. Paid plans send and receive from your own number, starting with Basic at $4.99 a month billed annually ($5.99 month to month) for 200 pages.

Fax Pigeon

HIPAA-compliant fax with a signed BAA on every plan

Plans start at $4.99 a month, billed annually, for 200 pages, with your own number and unlimited people. Your first fax is free.

  • Free porting of your local number
  • Fax from your email
  • AI summary of every inbound fax
  • E-signatures
  • Contact management
  • Delivery proof
Plans and pricing

Know a practice that still faxes? Refer it through the referral program and earn 20% of its plan, every month it stays.