Cheapest way to receive faxes online under HIPAA: $4.99 with a BAA

Fax Pigeon Basic receives faxes on your own number under a signed BAA for $4.99 a month billed annually, 200 pages sent and received. SRFax Healthcare Lite is $10.70 a month paid annually.

A man in a dark shirt reading a message on his phone in an office

The cheapest way to receive faxes under a BAA is a plan with its own number that counts received pages in its allowance: Fax Pigeon Basic is $4.99 a month billed annually for 200 pages sent and received, against $10.70 at SRFax, while Fax.Plus receives only on a paid plan with pages left and signs a BAA only on Enterprise.

What is the cheapest way to receive faxes online and stay HIPAA compliant?

Among the eight providers on this page, Fax Pigeon Basic is the cheapest way to receive faxes online under a BAA, at $4.99 a month billed annually or $5.99 month to month for 200 pages sent and received. Three conditions set the real price of receiving: a fax number that comes with the plan, received pages counted inside the allowance, and a BAA on that same plan.

Two low-priced plans fall short. iFax's Basic plan, $12.49 a month paid annually, lists sending faxes as its key feature, and receiving and the free BAA start on Plus. Fax.Plus Basic, shown at $6.99 a month billed annually, carries no BAA.

A practice can work through the choice in five steps.

  1. Count the pages the practice sent and received last month.
  2. Find each provider's lowest plan that both receives faxes and carries a BAA.
  3. Check whether received pages count against that plan, and what a page past it costs.
  4. Add the fax number, any extra numbers and the fee to port in the current number.
  5. Check how long received faxes stay in the account.

Fax Pigeon Basic includes the practice's own number and a BAA signed at signup, readable at faxpigeon.com/baa before paying. An extra page costs 10 cents on Basic and 5 cents on Standard. Fax Pigeon has no team plans, since every plan includes unlimited people.

Which plan at each provider receives faxes and carries a BAA?

The lowest plan that receives faxes and carries a BAA is Basic at Fax Pigeon, Healthcare Lite at SRFax, Solo at WestFax, Business at eFax, Plus at iFax, Enterprise at Fax.Plus, Solo at Documo and Plus at Sfax.

The table lines up that plan at each provider with how it counts received pages, the number it includes, its port-in fee and how long it keeps faxes.

ProviderPlan that receives with a BAADo received pages count?Fax number includedPort-in feeHow long faxes are kept
Fax PigeonBasicYes, one pool for pages sent and receivedThe practice's own numberFreeRead-only after cancellation, until deleted or destroyed on request
SRFaxHealthcare LiteYes, sent and received combinedA dedicated number$25 for a local numberUnlimited storage
WestFaxSoloYes, every page sent and every page received1 number$20 one timeTwo months standard
eFaxBusinessYes, pages past the plan bill at the overage rate1 number$40 a numberNot stated
iFaxPlusCredits cover fax pages, AI services and automation1 numberFreeNot stated
Fax.PlusEnterpriseReceiving needs enough remaining pages2 dedicated numbersFree, from Premium up for US and Canadian numbersNot stated
DocumoSoloNot stated; pages priced on 60 seconds of transmission1 numberDocumo handles it1 year
SfaxPlusPrinted as 700 total pages a monthA toll-free number$10 a line, after the trial1 year

The table prints the price of each plan where the provider quotes it.

Provider and planPrice as printedPages a monthBAA
Fax Pigeon Basic$4.99 a month billed annually, $5.99 month to month200, sent and receivedSigned at signup
SRFax Healthcare Lite$10.70 a month paid annually ($128.40 a year), $12.60 month to month200, sent and received combinedOn request, through Request a BAA
iFax Plus$24.99 a month paid annually500Free for Plus and Pro subscribers
Documo Solo$25 a month billed annually300Signed for healthcare customers
Sfax Plus$62 a month700 totalBAA Available

eFax includes the signed BAA on its Business plan, WestFax includes one on every plan including Solo, and Fax.Plus offers HIPAA compliance with a BAA on Enterprise only.

Do received pages count against the plan?

Received pages count against the plan at SRFax, WestFax, eFax and Fax Pigeon, Sfax prints its allowance as total pages, and Fax.Plus needs an active paid plan with enough remaining pages to receive a fax at all.

SRFax's Healthcare Lite plan counts 200 pages a month, sent and received combined. WestFax counts every page sent and every page received as one page against an allowance it says is not a limit, and unused pages do not roll over. eFax bills pages sent or received past the plan at the plan's overage rate, and its Customer Agreement treats included pages as a monthly usage credit that does not roll over. On certain plans, eFax counts a page as the greater of the actual pages or the 60-second blocks of connection time.

iFax's Terms of Use spend one allowance of credits on fax page transmissions, AI services and automation tasks, and unused credits do not carry forward. Documo bases per-page prices on a 60-second transmission time, and a page that takes longer may be charged as several.

Fax Pigeon draws pages sent and received from one pool, faxes nobody asked for included. Its terms say inbound receipt is never suspended for an overage balance, and overage from received faxes accrues to a later invoice. The per-page math is in what a fax costs per page.

Does the plan include a fax number, and what do extra numbers cost?

Every plan in this comparison that receives under a BAA includes at least one fax number, and extra numbers cost $4.95 each at SRFax, $4.99 a month at Fax.Plus, $5 a month at eFax and $3.00 at Documo.

SRFax gives each account its own dedicated number, or the customer can use an existing one. WestFax Solo is limited to its one included number, and WestFax Team accounts add numbers at $4.95 a month plus a $20 one-time fee each. Fax.Plus Business and Enterprise include 2 dedicated numbers, and Sfax Plus lists a toll-free number.

Every paid Fax Pigeon plan sends and receives from the practice's own number. Everyone in the practice shares that number, one inbox and one page allowance, with no per-person charge and no seat count. The term itself is defined in what a dedicated fax number is.

What does it cost to bring your current fax number?

Bringing a current fax number costs $40 a number at eFax, $25 for a local number at SRFax, $20 at WestFax and $10 a line at Sfax, and nothing at Fax Pigeon or iFax.

SRFax's porting page gives two timelines, approximately 10 to 15 business days and typically 4 to 5 weeks. Sfax starts a port only after the trial ends, bills the $10 once the port completes and quotes 2 to 4 weeks, and a number leaving Sfax needs the Sfax service kept active until it moves. Fax.Plus lists porting as free and requires Premium or higher to port in a United States or Canadian number. Documo says it handles porting into its platform.

Fax Pigeon ports a number in free on every paid plan, from sign-up or from Settings, and most transfers finish in 5 to 15 business days while the number keeps working with the current provider. Porting out of Fax Pigeon is free too, at any time before the number is released. The safe order is in how to port a fax number before you cancel.

How long do providers keep received faxes?

Providers keep received faxes for two months at WestFax, one year at Documo and Sfax, and without a stated limit at SRFax, which includes unlimited storage.

WestFax's pricing page calls two months standard and extendable for a fee. Its terms say sent and received messages are stored for about sixty days, or until the account is terminated, whichever comes first.

After a Fax Pigeon subscription is canceled, its fax documents stay accessible read-only until the account is deleted or their destruction is requested. Fax Pigeon does not suspend inbound receipt or access to stored documents when a renewal payment fails.

Can a free fax plan receive faxes under a BAA?

A free fax plan receives nothing under a BAA at Fax.Plus or Fax Pigeon: Fax.Plus requires an active paid plan to receive and signs its BAA only on Enterprise, and Fax Pigeon's free fax is a single send.

Fax.Plus's free plan comes with 10 pages to fax in total. Fax Pigeon's free fax is one send of up to 10 pages, with no credit card once the email is confirmed, from a shared number under the same signed BAA. Receiving on Fax Pigeon starts with a paid plan and the practice's own number, from $4.99 a month billed annually. The wider question is answered in whether any free fax service is HIPAA compliant.

* Fax Pigeon prices and plan terms as of October 20, 2026. Outside sources were read on October 20, 2026.

Frequently asked questions

What is the cheapest way to receive faxes online and stay HIPAA compliant?
Fax Pigeon Basic is the cheapest way to receive faxes under a BAA when compared with SRFax, WestFax, eFax, iFax, Fax.Plus, Documo and Sfax: 200 pages sent and received for $4.99 a month billed annually or $5.99 month to month. Basic includes the practice's own number, and the BAA is signed at signup. SRFax Healthcare Lite is $10.70 a month paid annually for 200 pages, with its BAA on request.
Which online fax services count received pages against the monthly plan?
SRFax, WestFax, eFax and Fax Pigeon count received pages against the monthly plan. SRFax combines sent and received pages, WestFax counts every page sent and every page received, eFax bills pages sent or received past the plan at its overage rate, and Fax Pigeon draws both from one pool. Fax.Plus needs enough remaining pages before it can receive a fax.
Can a free fax plan receive faxes under a BAA?
Neither Fax.Plus's free plan nor Fax Pigeon's free fax receives faxes under a BAA. Fax.Plus's free plan is 10 pages to fax in total, receiving needs an active paid plan, and its BAA comes only on Enterprise. Fax Pigeon's free fax is one send of up to 10 pages from a shared number under the signed BAA, and receiving starts with a paid plan.
Does a HIPAA fax plan include its own fax number?
Yes, the lowest plan that receives under a BAA at each of Fax Pigeon, SRFax, WestFax, eFax, iFax, Fax.Plus, Documo and Sfax includes at least one fax number, and every paid Fax Pigeon plan sends and receives from the practice's own number. Extra numbers run $3.00 at Documo, $4.95 each at SRFax, $4.99 a month at Fax.Plus and $5 a month at eFax, and WestFax Solo allows only its one included number.
How much does it cost to move my fax number to a cheaper service?
Moving a fax number to Fax Pigeon costs nothing on any paid plan, and most transfers finish in 5 to 15 business days. eFax charges $40 a number to port in, SRFax $25 for a local number, WestFax $20 and Sfax $10 a line after its trial. iFax ports free, and Fax.Plus lists porting as free but requires Premium or higher for a United States or Canadian number.
How long do online fax services keep received faxes?
WestFax keeps received faxes two months as standard, and its terms say about sixty days or until the account ends. Documo and Sfax list 1 year of storage, and SRFax includes unlimited storage. After a Fax Pigeon subscription is canceled, its fax documents stay readable until the account is deleted or their destruction is requested.

Fax Pigeon

HIPAA-compliant fax with a signed BAA on every plan

Plans start at $4.99 a month, billed annually, for 200 pages, with your own number and unlimited people. Your first fax is free.

  • Free porting of your local number
  • Fax from your email
  • AI summary of every inbound fax
  • E-signatures
  • Contact management
  • Delivery proof
Plans and pricing

Know a practice that still faxes? Refer it through the referral program and earn 20% of its plan, every month it stays.